top of page

Welcome Message

Hello! And welcome to Skincoloured Magazine - a safe space for all minorities and youths!


Hi there! My name is Sophie, and I am the Founder and Editor in Chief of Skincoloured Magazine - a non-profit online blog and magazine that aims to empower, embrace and celebrate POC and youths from across the globe.


A little bit about me:


I am a young, 18-year-old, Filipina living in the great Down Under. I enjoy creative writing and drawing as much as I enjoy eating my favourite Filipinx dish - pork adobo. I am incredibly proud of my Filipinx - specifically Sugbu-bisayan - heritage, and although I'm still in the learning process, I think it'd be safe to say that I'm one of the proudest Filipinos you could meet!


Other than Skincoloured Magazine, I am part of a Filipinx empowerment blog called Aboriginal Roots, which I coordinate with my two sisters, M and K. It aims to empower the WHOLE Filipinx community - including the LGBTQ+, indigenous and darkskin members - as well as reclaim our indigenous heritage and culture.


How I feel as a youth in our society:


I have recently realised the importance of the young community in our society and how they well and truly are the future of the world. I always find it quite sad that we are looked down upon or that our opinions are invalidated purely because of our age - or rather our "lack of experience". But I don't think that's true at all!


Now more than ever, young people are starting up self-made businesses and organisations as early as the ages of 15, and more are getting involved in the activism scene! I think it's amazing and absolutely inspiring to see the amount of involvement and commitment that so many youths around the world are showing these past few years. It makes me proud to be a part of this generation and gives me so much hope for the next.


I hope that Skincoloured Magazine can be just as inspiring and motivating to you all as it is to me! Join me on this epic journey of bringing kids together from all across the globe and giving young heroes the credit that they deserve!


Love from,

Sophie K.


bottom of page